The Singapore Golf Association was registered on 5 October 1961 by three gentlemen, Mr JW Stogdon, then the President of the Royal Singapore Golf Club, Mr CY Koh and Mr Joseph Quah, with the objective of encouraging and promoting the game of golf in Singapore. Its members were the Royal Singapore Golf Club and the Island Club (which later merged to form the Singapore Island Country Club), Keppel Club, Changi Golf Club and former military golf clubs Tengah Golf Club and Seletar Golf Club. It held its first AGM on 11 May 1962 at the Island Club with Mr JW Stogdon installed as its first president.

From a small association of golf clubs, SGA has grown to its present size comprising 11 Ordinary Members, 7 Associate Members and 4 Affiliate Members. Its constitution was amended in 2001 to enable golf clubs without real estate to join SGA as Associate Members. This allowed the general golfing public to obtain and maintain a golf handicap without having to be members of golf and country clubs. In 2010, the constitution was again amended to accept Affiliate Members which are any body, society, organisation or commercial entity committed to furthering the interest of the sport of golf to join SGA.>

SGA is a member of the International Golf Federation, Asia Pacific Golf Confederation and ASEAN Golf Federation. As the governing body of golf, it is also an Affiliate Member of the Singapore Sports Council and the Singapore National Olympic Council.


Mr Tan Chong Huat 2022 – Present
Mr Ross Tan 2016 – 2022
Mr Bob Tan 2010 – 2016
Dr Ong Leong Boon 2006 – 2010
Mr Chandra Das 2004 – 2006
Mr Dennis Lee Kim Yew 2002 – 2004
The Hon Chief Justice Mr Wee Chong Jin 1963 – 2002
Mr J. W. Stogdon 1962 – 1963